top of page
Blog: Blog2
Search
  • Writer's pictureTeacher Chelsea

Online Teaching Essentials

Updated: Oct 20, 2019

When I started looking into online teaching, I was super tempted to go out and buy ALL OF THE THINGS before I even got my first paycheck. But you know what's more fun than decking out that classroom background? GETTING STARTED! Here is my quick list of teaching essentials. If you are thinking about teaching online or are in the hiring process, START HERE, and then build your classroom to fit your needs and teaching style going forward...


DEVICE



You can teach (and should complete the hiring process) from a desktop or laptop (PC or Mac). You can teach from and iPad once hired. You cannot teach from a Chrome Book (because it will not support the VIPKid Teaching App). You are currently unable to complete the mock class from and iPad so you will need access to a laptop or desktop computer to complete the hiring process. Once you begin teaching, I recommend having a back up device handy just in case your primary teaching device decides to go bonkers minutes before class. I teach on my laptop and I always have our iPad charged just in case I need to hop over to teach on it.


HEADSET



You will need a good headset to teach your classes, and I also recommend having a headset for the interview, demo, and mock classes. A headset significantly cuts down on the background noise that your audience hears and allows you to communicate more clearly. I started with this headset from Target which still works great. I "upgraded" to this headset from Amazon it's my favorite. It’s comfortable enough for me to wear all morning. I wouldn’t call them noise cancelling, but they definitely cut down on any noise that may be going on around me and allows me to focus fully on my students. It also has a mute button (cough, cough).


MOUSE



While this is not NECESSARY, I love teaching with a mouse. My laptop has a built in track pad that works just fine. But I have more control over my mouse when drawing on the screen for my students. They are also useful for demonstrating DRAG, DROP, DRAW, CLICK to beginner and trial students. These are VERY inexpensive and can even be found at the dollar store.


ETHERNET CABLE / BACKUP WIFI



Having an ethernet cable that will hardwire your computer to your internet can really save you in a bind. Another option is to have a backup wifi option such as a phone hotspot that you can use if your first option fails.


EDUCATIONAL BACKDROP



As a former classroom teacher, creating a background for my online classroom gave me all the thrills. But for some, this can be overwhelming. My best advice: don’t overthink it! Especially when you are just beginning. You will want to create a nice, bright, clear, educational background and have this ready for your demo and mock lessons. Start by looking around your house and use what you have! If you’re still in need, stop by the dollar store! My first background was a simple $1 alphabet chart from the Dollar Tree.


LIGHTING



Bright lighting is important and will be one of the things that VIPKid will look for you to have in your mock class. Make sure that your background is well lit on camera, and also that there are no shadows on your beautiful face. I was able to create adequate lighting by replacing the bulbs in my existing lamps with bright LED bulbs.


PROPS



You’ll want to keep your props simple as you get started. I would recommend the following essentials: letter flashcards (showing big AND small letters), a puppet OR a stuffed animal, a whiteboard, something to show colors (I used a pack of crayons). That’s it! These things can each be found for $1 at the Dollar Tree! (As my referral you’ll also receive my printable starter prop pack which has all the props you’ll need for your mock classes and basic props you'll use over and over.) Also, check out my blog post about props HERE!


REWARDS


Again, keep these simple for now until you find what works for you! In general, you’ll want something you can use to reward/praise your student about 5 times per class. (As my referral, I will send you my printable starter reward pack that has a variety of engaging rewards to keep your students motivated!)


<3 Teacher Chelsea


43 views0 comments

Comentarios


bottom of page